FedRAMP: What Is It, and How Can It Benefit You?

August 30, 2022

In the past, we discussed NIST SP 800-171, but what about securing cloud-based products and services? Let's dig deeper. Prior to FedRAMP, each agency had to establish its own security standards and dedicate specialized resources. This would make things more complicated and make security across agencies a nightmare. Many agencies lack the funding necessary to create their own standards.

A federal program called FedRAMP (Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program) harmonizes the security authorizations for cloud products and services. This program's foundations date back approximately two decades. By enforcing security guidelines and reducing cloud adoption expenses, it hastens the adoption of cloud technologies.

Additionally, it enables government agencies to use cloud services that have been approved knowing that they have met minimum security requirements. The program also specifies the guidelines that organizations must adhere to in order to adopt cloud services. Additionally, it outlines the duties of the executive departments and organizations that look after FedRAMP.

FedRAMP's objectives are to: 

  • Ensure that use of cloud services safeguards and secures federal data.
  • To save time and money, permit the reuse of cloud services across the whole federal government.
  • Speed up the deployment of secure cloud solutions through reuse of assessments and authorizations.
  • Increase trust in security evaluations and cloud solutions' security.
  • Achieve uniform security authorizations utilizing a foundational set of accepted criteria for cloud product certification inside or outside of FedRAMP.
  • Ensure that current security procedures are used consistently.
  • Use of near-real-time data and increased automation for ongoing monitoring.

Who Is Responsible for Executing FedRAMP?

Agencies, Cloud Service Providers (CSPs), and ThirdParty Assessment Organizations are all held accountable for implementing FedRAMP. Verifying that crucial security controls are implemented on any cloud solution that stores, processes, and transmits government data is one of the most important requirements for a successful government use of cloud computing. Cloud solutions must comply with FedRAMP's security requirements and standards for safeguarding government data. Cloud service providers (CSP) and cloud service offerings are subject to the FedRAMP standards. 

Crucial Processes - Additionally, FedRAMP authorizes cloud systems in three steps, according to FedRamp.Gov:

  • Security Assessment: To provide security authorizations, the security assessment process uses a baseline set of NIST 800-53 controls and a standardized set of standards in compliance with FISMA.
  • Leveraging and Authorization: Federal agencies use the security authorization packages they see in the FedRAMP repository to obtain a security authorization for their own organization.
  • Continuous Assessment & Authorization: Once a security authorization has been obtained, it must be maintained by completing ongoing assessment and authorization tasks.

So What's Next?


Once all procedures have been carried out, the final version of FedRAMP's updated Rev. 5 baselines related documentation and templates, an implementation guide, and a compliance deadline will be made available. Additionally, FedRAMP will offer forums for training and education that are focused on the Rev. 5 updates and transition process.

Need help navigating the waters of FedRAMP qualifications, certifications, or just questioning how it could be pertinent to your organization? Talk to Idenhaus today to get your questions answered (and your FedRAMP journey started). Book time with our specialists now. 

More News